Let's talk
International school

Brighton College

Brighton, East Sussex, United KingdomDay and boarding
An imagined school campus with a clock tower, courtyard, trees and students arriving along a red path.
Space for a new chapter.
Location
Brighton, East Sussex
Recorded age range
11–19
Education
British · A-Level · IB

About Brighton College

Founded 1845 in Brighton, named The Sunday Times 'School of the Decade' — co-ed day+boarding, A-Level + IB Diploma, ~1,450 pupils ages 3-18.

Brighton College was founded in 1845 on the Sussex coast. About 1,450 pupils across Pre-Prep, Prep and Senior schools, fully co-educational. The Senior School runs both A-Level and IB Diploma at sixth form, with the IB cohort growing year-on-year. Named The Sunday Times 'School of the Decade' for academic results in 2024, with one of the highest pupil offer rates to Oxford and Cambridge of any UK independent school. Published 2025-26 termly fees (3 terms per year, inclusive of VAT): Year 9 (4th Form) £10,470 day / £15,290 weekly boarding / £18,130 full boarding per term — annualising to roughly £31k day, £46k weekly boarding, £54k full boarding at that year group; Sixth Form full boarding rises to around £19-20k per term (~£57-60k per year).

School life and areas of focus

  • Sunday Times 'School of the Decade' 2024 for academic results
  • Top Oxbridge offer rate in UK independent sector
  • A-Level + IB Diploma at sixth form
  • Founded 1845 in central Brighton (90 min from London)
  • 1,450 pupils across all years
  • Fully co-educational across the school
  • Founded 1845 — 181-year history
  • Co-educational since 1973 (one of the first HMC boarding schools to admit girls)
  • ≈1,287 pupils with substantial boarding population
  • Set on a coastal campus on the seafront in Brighton, East Sussex
  • Buildings designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott (architect of St Pancras Station)
  • HMC, BSA and Eton Group member
  • Currently the highest Oxbridge offer rate of any major HMC boarding school (often exceeding 30% of leavers)
  • Substantial bursary programme via the Brighton College Foundation
  • Founded 1845 — 181 year tradition
  • 1,287-pupil community
  • Day and boarding places available
  • Church of England foundation
  • A-Level A*-B*: 71% achieve AAB+
  • Strong Oxbridge progression

Education and school life

Explore the curriculum and subjects below. Our team can help you find out about subject choices, year groups and programme availability.

Programme type
International school
Curriculum
British, A-Level, IB
Teaching language
English
Campus setting
urban

Subject areas

  • Mathematics
  • Further Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Computer Science
  • English Literature
  • History
  • Geography
  • Economics
  • Politics
  • Philosophy
  • French
  • Spanish
  • German
  • Mandarin
  • Art
  • Music
  • Theatre
  • PE
  • Theory of Knowledge
  • Mandarin Chinese (first major UK school to make Mandarin compulsory)
  • Sciences (Cambridge / Imperial pipeline)
  • Drama (Tom Hollander, Cate Blanchett's husband Andrew Upton)
  • Modern languages
  • Sport (cricket, hockey, rugby, sailing)

Listed memberships and accreditations

  • ISI (Independent Schools Inspectorate)
  • HMC (Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference)
  • IB World School
  • BSA (Boarding Schools Association)
  • Eton Group (informal grouping of leading day schools)

Study and progression pathways

  • Oxford
  • Cambridge
  • Imperial
  • LSE
  • UCL
  • Ivy League
  • Oxbridge (currently the highest Oxbridge offer rate of any HMC boarding school)
  • Russell Group (Imperial, UCL, LSE, Cambridge)
  • US Ivy League universities (Harvard, Princeton, Yale, MIT)
  • Medical schools
  • Oxbridge

Academic profile in the catalogue

Catalogue review date: 2026-05-18

Typical class size
16 · catalogue record
Student / teacher ratio
1:9 · catalogue record

The source does not specify a measurement year for these figures. Ask our team about current class sizes and staffing.

Campus, boarding and student community

Catalogue profile

Founded
1845
Recorded student population
1450
Campus setting
urban
Boarding
Listed in the catalogue
Co-education
Listed as co-educational

School-wide directory record

Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18

School stages
Prep, Senior, Sixth Form
Directory age range
11-19
Student intake
Co-educational
Attendance
Day and boarding
Religious ethos
Church of England
Inspectorate
ISI
Total pupils
1287
Boys · number / share
692 · 53.77%
Girls · number / share
595 · 46.23%
Pupils receiving SEN support · number / share
238 · 18.49%
Pupils with an EHC plan · number / share
1 · 0.08%

Directory and catalogue figures are shown separately because their age groups or record dates may differ.

Recorded examination results

Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18

Qualification
A-level
Results year
2025
Average grade
A+
Progress score
0.28 (Above Average)
AAB or higher
70.50%

Results are for the year shown, separately from the estimated catalogue indicators.

Tuition and costs

Recorded GBP school fees

Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18

GBP directory amounts · period and VAT unverified
AttendanceRecorded range
Day fees£9,600.00 – £15,176.40
Boarding fees£18,348.00 – £26,550.00

These historical directory amounts are not a confirmed school quotation. The billing period, VAT, academic year and included costs need confirmation from the school.

Catalogue USD figures

Catalogue fee range · USD

$13,000 – $75,000 USD

Catalogue figures are shown in US dollars (USD). The fee period and academic year are not specified in this record. UK institutions generally publish their own fees in pounds sterling (GBP); check the current fee schedule rather than treating this range as a GBP price.

Ask the UniCampus team about the fee period, entry year, boarding and additional costs.

Ask about current fees

Planning your application

Entry requirements depend on the school, age group and programme. Talk to the UniCampus team about school reports, language requirements, assessments and your application timeline.

Catalogue application window
11+ and 13+ pre-tests (Years 5 and 6); 16+ November prior to entry
Listed intake
September 2026

These catalogue notes do not confirm an available place or a current deadline. MEC guidance can help you organise a shortlist and prepare questions for the school.

Support recorded in the catalogue

Scholarships or bursaries
Listed; eligibility and availability need confirmation
Visa application support
Listed; confirm what assistance is provided
Explore MEC guidance

Source notes and alternative records

Dated background research is retained below; source descriptions may differ and have not been newly verified by UniCampus.

School background research · 2026-05-31

School background notes

Source record dated 2026-05-31 · Source text retained in English

Brighton College was founded in 1845 by a group of local Brighton residents seeking to establish a Church of England public school in the rapidly growing Regency seaside resort. The school's principal Victorian buildings were designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott — the Gothic Revival architect of the St Pancras Hotel, the Albert Memorial and a third of the Victorian cathedrals of the English colonial empire — and they remain the architectural centre of the school today, Grade I listed. The school sits on a coastal campus in central Brighton, East Sussex, with views of the English Channel.

Brighton became co-educational in 1973 — one of the very first HMC boarding schools to admit girls — and is now fully co-educational with around 1,287 pupils ages 3-18 and a substantial boarding population. The Headmaster is Steve Marshall-Taylor (succeeding Richard Cairns, who served as Head from 2006 to 2024 and presided over the transformation of the school into the academic powerhouse described below). The school is a member of the HMC, the Boarding Schools Association and the Eton Group.

Brighton College has been the most dramatic academic-trajectory story of any UK independent school in the twenty-first century. Under Richard Cairns's headship (2006-24), Brighton transformed from a moderate Sussex HMC school into one of the very top academic schools in the United Kingdom by A-Level results and by Oxbridge offer rate. Brighton College now consistently records one of the highest Oxbridge offer rates of any HMC boarding school in the country, often exceeding 30% of leavers, and is the best-performing co-educational HMC boarding school in the UK by A-Level points.

Brighton was the first major UK independent school to make Mandarin Chinese a compulsory curricular subject (in 2006), as part of a deliberate strategy to position the school for the rise of the Pacific century. The school maintains substantial bilateral partnerships with Chinese schools and a notable Chinese-language and culture programme.

The school's alumni list spans drama, archaeology and the arts. The actor Tom Hollander — Pirates of the Caribbean (Cutler Beckett), The Night Manager, the BAFTA-nominated The White Lotus Season 2 — was a Brighton College boy. The Australian screenwriter and theatre director Andrew Upton, the husband of Cate Blanchett, was a pupil. The Cambridge archaeologist Sir Charles Higham — the principal modern figure in South-East Asian prehistoric archaeology — was an Old Brightonian.

The school operates a substantial bursary programme via the Brighton College Foundation.

Founded · source note
1845
Campus setting · source note
coastal
Religious ethos · source note
Church of England
School leadership · source note
Steve Marshall-Taylor (Headmaster — formerly Richard Cairns)
Scholarships · source note
Mentioned in saved research; confirm current terms

Additional subject and programme notes

  • Mandarin Chinese (first major UK school to make Mandarin compulsory)
  • Sciences (Cambridge / Imperial pipeline)
  • Mathematics
  • Drama (Tom Hollander, Cate Blanchett's husband Andrew Upton)
  • Modern languages
  • Sport (cricket, hockey, rugby, sailing)

Listed education pathways

  • Oxbridge (currently the highest Oxbridge offer rate of any HMC boarding school)
  • Russell Group (Imperial, UCL, LSE, Cambridge)
  • US Ivy League universities (Harvard, Princeton, Yale, MIT)
  • Medical schools

Memberships and accreditations in the source

  • HMC (Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference)
  • BSA (Boarding Schools Association)
  • Eton Group (informal grouping of leading day schools)
  • ISI (Independent Schools Inspectorate)

School-life notes

  • Founded 1845 — 181-year history
  • Co-educational since 1973 (one of the first HMC boarding schools to admit girls)
  • ≈1,287 pupils with substantial boarding population
  • Set on a coastal campus on the seafront in Brighton, East Sussex
  • Buildings designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott (architect of St Pancras Station)
  • HMC, BSA and Eton Group member
  • Currently the highest Oxbridge offer rate of any major HMC boarding school (often exceeding 30% of leavers)
  • Substantial bursary programme via the Brighton College Foundation

Notable alumni listed in the source

  • Tom Hollander (actor — Pirates of the Caribbean, The Night Manager, The White Lotus Season 2)
  • Sir Charles Higham (Cambridge archaeologist; founder of South-East Asian prehistory)
  • Andrew Upton (screenwriter and theatre director — Cate Blanchett's husband)
  • Tilly Lockey (disability and tech rights advocate)
  • Many recent Old Brightonians now in venture capital, tech and the arts
Additional school record · 2026-05-30

Additional saved school information

Source record dated 2026-05-30 · Source text retained in English

Brighton College is a fee-charging, co-educational, boarding and day independent school for pupils aged 3 to 18 in Brighton and Hove, England. The school has two sites: Brighton College (11-18) and Brighton College Preparatory School (8-13). Brighton is known for its academic achievement, ranking first in the country for its A-Level results in 2024.

Founded in 1845 by William Aldwin Soames, Brighton College was the first Victorian public school founded in Sussex. Soames originally planned for use of the Brighton Pavilion, but after refusal by Queen Victoria, the school was built in the suburb of Kemptown, Brighton.

Founded · source note
1845
Scholarships · source note
Not identified in this source

Listed education pathways

  • Oxbridge

School-life notes

  • Founded 1845 — 181 year tradition
  • 1,287-pupil community
  • Day and boarding places available
  • Church of England foundation
  • A-Level A*-B*: 71% achieve AAB+
  • Strong Oxbridge progression
Schoolscout introduction

Brighton College stands out as a beacon of educational excellence, renowned for its innovative approach to learning and commitment to nurturing individual...

School location

Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18

Recorded address
Eastern Road, Brighton, East Sussex, South East, BN2 0AL
Postcode
BN2 0AL
Find this address on a mapAsk our team about this school

Questions in the source record

Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18 · Original English answers

What type of school is Brighton College?

Brighton College is a co-educational independent mainstream school for pupils aged 11 to 19, located near Brighton in East Sussex. The school offers education from Prep through to Sixth Form, with pathways leading to GCSEs and A Levels.

How do I apply to Brighton College?

Applications typically begin 1–2 years in advance and may include registration, assessments and interviews. Families can explore the UK private school admissions timeline to understand key dates and entry points.

What are the fees at Brighton College?

The cost of attending Brighton College typically ranges around £9,600–£26,550 per term, with variations based on age and boarding.

Is Brighton College a day or boarding school?

Pupils at Brighton College can attend as day and boarding.

Is Brighton College selective?

Brighton College is a selective independent school. Admissions may include assessments and interviews where applicable.

Contact our team for current dates, entry criteria and fees.

Plan your next step with UniCampus

Our team can help you explore programmes, understand fees and prepare for your application.

Enquire about this school

Catalogue review date: 2026-05-18