
- Location
- Worcester
- Recorded age range
- 2–18
- Education
- British
About Bromsgrove School
Respected institution in Worcester. Programs in art, STEM, and leadership.
School background from the saved source · 2026-05-30
Bromsgrove School is a co-educational boarding and day school in the English public school tradition, founded in 1553 in Bromsgrove, Worcestershire. First recorded as a chantry school in 1476 and refounded as a grammar between 1548 and 1553, it stands as one of the oldest public schools in Britain. The 1693 endowment of Sir Thomas Cookes, 2nd Baronet of Norgrove Court, produced the first buildings on the present 100-acre town-centre site; Thomas Cookes House remains in use today as the oldest building on campus.
The school is one of the fourteen founding members of the Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference (HMC), and educates roughly 2,114 pupils across three integrated divisions — a pre-prep nursery for ages 2-7, a preparatory school for 7-13 and the senior school for 13-18. It is fully co-educational and offers both day and boarding places, with overseas expansion to Bangkok (Bromsgrove International School Thailand) and Shenzhen, China (Bromsgrove School Mission Hills). Boarding fees reach approximately £18,114 per term across three terms per year. The headmaster from September 2022 is Michael Punt, previously headmaster of Chigwell School.
Bromsgrove combines a strong academic record with an unusually broad and deep co-curricular programme. The school's sporting reputation is national: it has produced five Victoria Cross recipients and currently educates several England rugby internationals (Ben Foden, Ollie Lawrence and Matt Mullan among recent alumni), as well as Olympic and motor-sport competitors. Music has been a school strength since the appointment of Isaiah Burnell as director of music in 1907; alumni include John Illsley of Dire Straits, Fyfe Dangerfield of Guillemots and the jazz saxophonist Soweto Kinch.
The school's most famous old boy is the poet A. E. Housman, author of A Shropshire Lad. Other Old Bromsgrovians include Conservative grandees Lord Heseltine and Lord Digby Jones; First Sea Lord Admiral Sir Ben Key; novelist Nicholas Evans (The Horse Whisperer); and a wide cast of British actors including Ian Carmichael, Trevor Eve, Richard Wattis and Doctor Who's Arthur Darvill.
School life and areas of focus
- Art
- STEM
- Leadership
- Founded 1553 — one of the 14 founding members of HMC
- One of the oldest public schools in Britain (473-year history)
- 100-acre rural campus in the centre of Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
- Three-school structure: pre-prep nursery (2-7), prep (7-13), senior (13-18)
- Day and boarding (≈2,114 pupils total across all sections)
- International expansion: sister campuses in Bangkok and Shenzhen (Mission Hills)
- Top-tier sport pipeline: 5 VC recipients, 3 current England rugby internationals
- Strong literary heritage — poet A. E. Housman and novelist Nicholas Evans both attended
- 2,058-pupil community
- Day and boarding places available
- Church of England foundation
- A-Level A*-B*: 32% achieve AAB+
- Strong in STEM, Drama, Sport
- Strong Oxbridge progression
Education and school life
Explore the curriculum and subjects below. Our team can help you find out about subject choices, year groups and programme availability.
- Programme type
- Boarding school
- Curriculum
- British
- Teaching language
- English
- Campus setting
- urban
Subject areas
- Art
- STEM
- Leadership
- Cricket, rugby & equestrian (top-tier sports tradition)
- Modern languages (Mandarin, Spanish, French)
- Music & composition (Isaiah Burnell directed music 1907-32)
- Drama & musical theatre
- STEM (chemistry, physics laboratories)
- International programmes (CIE + IB optional pathway)
- Drama
- Sport
- Outdoor
Listed memberships and accreditations
- HMC (Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference) — one of 14 founding members
- ISI (Independent Schools Inspectorate)
- BSA (Boarding Schools Association)
- IAPS (Independent Association of Prep Schools)
Study and progression pathways
- STEM
- Arts
- Leadership
- Oxbridge
- Russell Group (Birmingham, Warwick, Imperial, Bristol)
- US universities (NCAA sport-pipeline alumni)
- Royal Academy / RAM music conservatoires
- Edinburgh / St Andrews
- International universities
Academic profile in the catalogue
No review date is recorded for these catalogue figures.
The legacy catalogue contains estimated academic figures without a measurement source. Ask our team about current class sizes and progression results.
Campus, boarding and student community
Catalogue profile
- Campus setting
- urban
- Boarding
- Listed in the catalogue
- Co-education
- Listed as co-educational
School-wide directory record
Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18
- School stages
- Nursery, Pre-Prep, Prep, Senior, Sixth Form
- Directory age range
- 2-18
- Student intake
- Co-educational
- Attendance
- Day and boarding
- Religious ethos
- Church of England
- Headteacher in source record
- Mr Michael Punt
- Inspectorate
- ISI
- Total pupils
- 2058
- Boys · number / share
- 1147 · 55.73%
- Girls · number / share
- 911 · 44.27%
- Pupils receiving SEN support · number / share
- 406 · 19.73%
- Pupils with an EHC plan · number / share
- 1 · 0.05%
Directory and catalogue figures are shown separately because their age groups or record dates may differ.
Recorded examination results
Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18
- Qualification
- A-level
- Results year
- 2025
- Average grade
- B+
- Progress score
- 0.44 (Well Above Average)
- AAB or higher
- 32.30%
Results are for the year shown, separately from the estimated catalogue indicators.
Tuition and costs
Recorded GBP school fees
Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18
| Attendance | Recorded range |
|---|---|
| Day fees | £2,125.20 – £5,970.00 |
These historical directory amounts are not a confirmed school quotation. The billing period, VAT, academic year and included costs need confirmation from the school.
Catalogue USD figures
Estimated catalogue fees · USD
Catalogue figures are shown in US dollars (USD). The fee period and academic year are not specified in this record. UK institutions generally publish their own fees in pounds sterling (GBP); check the current fee schedule rather than treating this range as a GBP price.
Ask the UniCampus team about the fee period, entry year, boarding and additional costs.
Ask about current feesPlanning your application
Entry requirements depend on the school, age group and programme. Talk to the UniCampus team about school reports, language requirements, assessments and your application timeline.
- Catalogue application window
- Rolling
- Listed intake
- September 2026
These catalogue notes do not confirm an available place or a current deadline. MEC guidance can help you organise a shortlist and prepare questions for the school.
Support recorded in the catalogue
- Scholarships or bursaries
- Not specified in this record; ask the institution
- Visa application support
- Listed; confirm what assistance is provided
Source notes and alternative records
Dated background research is retained below; source descriptions may differ and have not been newly verified by UniCampus.
School background research · 2026-05-30
School background notes
Source record dated 2026-05-30 · Source text retained in English
Read this source's description in the school overview.
- Founded · source note
- 1553
- Campus setting · source note
- rural
- Religious ethos · source note
- Church of England
- School leadership · source note
- Michael Punt
- Scholarships · source note
- Mentioned in saved research; confirm current terms
Additional subject and programme notes
- Cricket, rugby & equestrian (top-tier sports tradition)
- Modern languages (Mandarin, Spanish, French)
- Music & composition (Isaiah Burnell directed music 1907-32)
- Drama & musical theatre
- STEM (chemistry, physics laboratories)
- International programmes (CIE + IB optional pathway)
Listed education pathways
- Oxbridge
- Russell Group (Birmingham, Warwick, Imperial, Bristol)
- US universities (NCAA sport-pipeline alumni)
- Royal Academy / RAM music conservatoires
Memberships and accreditations in the source
- HMC (Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference) — one of 14 founding members
- ISI (Independent Schools Inspectorate)
- BSA (Boarding Schools Association)
- IAPS (Independent Association of Prep Schools)
School-life notes
- Founded 1553 — one of the 14 founding members of HMC
- One of the oldest public schools in Britain (473-year history)
- 100-acre rural campus in the centre of Bromsgrove, Worcestershire
- Three-school structure: pre-prep nursery (2-7), prep (7-13), senior (13-18)
- Day and boarding (≈2,114 pupils total across all sections)
- International expansion: sister campuses in Bangkok and Shenzhen (Mission Hills)
- Top-tier sport pipeline: 5 VC recipients, 3 current England rugby internationals
- Strong literary heritage — poet A. E. Housman and novelist Nicholas Evans both attended
Notable alumni listed in the source
- A. E. Housman (poet — A Shropshire Lad)
- Lord Heseltine (Conservative politician, Deputy Prime Minister 1995-97)
- Lord Digby Jones (former Minister of State for Trade)
- Admiral Sir Ben Key (First Sea Lord since 2021)
- Nicholas Evans (novelist — The Horse Whisperer)
- John Illsley (bassist, Dire Straits)
- Ian Carmichael (actor — Lord Peter Wimsey adaptations)
- Trevor Eve (actor — Shoestring, Waking the Dead)
- Arthur Darvill (actor — Doctor Who, Broadchurch)
- Richard Wattis (actor — Hancock's Half Hour, Sykes)
- Ben Foden (England rugby international)
- Ollie Lawrence (England rugby international)
- Iskra Lawrence (model and body-positivity activist)
- Five Old Bromsgrovians awarded the Victoria Cross
Additional school record · 2026-05-30
Additional saved school information
Source record dated 2026-05-30 · Source text retained in English
Bromsgrove School is a co-educational boarding and day school in the English public school tradition located in Bromsgrove, England. Founded in 1553, it is one of the oldest public school in Britain, and one of the 14 founding members of the Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference.
Bromsgrove School has both boarding and day students consisting of three schools, pre-prep nursery school (ages 2–7), preparatory school (ages 7–13) and the senior school (13–18). Bromsgrove charges up to £18,114 per term, with three terms per academic year. The school has a total of 200 teaching staff, with 2,114 pupils.
- Founded · source note
- 1553
- Campus setting · source note
- urban
- Scholarships · source note
- Mentioned in saved research; confirm current terms
Additional subject and programme notes
- STEM
- Drama
- Sport
- Outdoor
Listed education pathways
- Oxbridge
- Edinburgh / St Andrews
- International universities
School-life notes
- 2,058-pupil community
- Day and boarding places available
- Church of England foundation
- A-Level A*-B*: 32% achieve AAB+
- Strong in STEM, Drama, Sport
- Strong Oxbridge progression
Notable alumni listed in the source
- Ian Carmichael
- Richard Wattis
- Half Hour
- Trevor Eve
- Nick Miles
- Arthur Darvill
Schoolscout introduction
Bromsgrove School offers a rich educational experience that blends tradition with modernity, fostering a vibrant community where students thrive academical...
School location
Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18
- Recorded address
- Worcester Road, Bromsgrove, Worcestershire, West Midlands, B61 7DU
- Postcode
- B61 7DU
Questions in the source record
Schoolscout · Source record dated 2026-05-18 · Original English answers
What type of school is Bromsgrove School?
Bromsgrove School is a co-educational independent mainstream school for pupils aged 2 to 18, located near Bromsgrove in Worcestershire. The school offers education from Nursery through to Sixth Form, with pathways leading to GCSEs and A Levels.
How do I apply to Bromsgrove School?
Applications typically begin 1–2 years in advance and may include registration, assessments and interviews. Families can explore the UK private school admissions timeline to understand key dates and entry points.
What are the fees at Bromsgrove School?
The cost of attending Bromsgrove School typically ranges around £2,125–£5,970 per term, with variations based on age and boarding.
Is Bromsgrove School a day or boarding school?
Bromsgrove School offers day and boarding options. Where boarding is available, this may include full, weekly or flexi arrangements.
Is Bromsgrove School selective?
Entry to Bromsgrove School is based on overall fit and, where relevant, academic assessment.
Contact our team for current dates, entry criteria and fees.
Plan your next step with UniCampus
Our team can help you explore programmes, understand fees and prepare for your application.
Enquire about this schoolPhotograph sources and credits
# Photo attribution
Source: Wikipedia
- bromsgrove-school.jpg: CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons
# Photo attribution
Source: Wikipedia
- img-01.jpg: CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons - img-02.jpg: CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons - img-03.jpg: CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons - img-04.jpg: CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons
